And you shall love ואהבת

And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart , with all your soul, and with all your might. Deu 6:5

In a previous article, I ended with a question, “If I made or commanded you to love me, would that be love?”  In our subject verse, Jesus calls it the Greatest Commandment. I wanted to understand more in depth the meaning of this commandment.  In trying to answer my question, the previous article researched the Hebrew word used for commandment, TSaVaH, which gives the imagery of following a direction by the use of a “piling of rocks.”

The origin of the word tsavah or command is direction, guidance or instructions. It could be a command, follow the direction the rocks are pointing to or you will get lost. It could be instruction, follow the direction the rocks indicate.  It could be a recommendation, this is the best route to your destination. Ultimately this idea of command is not an order that has no meaning except for the one giving the order, but it is meant as instruction.  –Chaim Bentorah retired Hebrew Professor.

In the case of this verse, I don’t see it as a direct order, especially not after studying the Hebrew words.  The remez, or hint, of this verse is found in the last phrase, with all your might, and ties to the featured image of this article.  This verse is a guide map for a lifelong relationship with God.

It may seem out of order, but to understand the depths of this verse, we will review the last phrase first.


And with all your Might

 ובכל מאדך

The Hebrew word used for might is moedeka, from the root mo’ed.  Often used as an adverb to intensify and modify a verb, in the noun form one can translate as strength or might, showing intensity.  The Hebrew professor explains this comes from an old Akkadian word mo’odu, which means to increase or to be in abundance.  In Hebrew, this carries the idea of maturing and growing.  This can be growing in stature, strength, or even position, but I would like to add my own take, growing stronger in a relationship.


And you shall love

ואהבת

I found accounts where people who speak and understand Hebrew will not say this verse in their native tongue, but will quote it in the Hebrew language, for its depth and meaning no other language can quite touch.  Here’s a reason why:

The first word is Ve-AHaVaTa, (And you shall love) which in technical grammatical terms, the “Ve” forms a construct state, a preterit form, which is similar to the aorist tense in the Greek language. What does this mean in layman’s terms?  This refers to an action that has started in the past, continues into the present  without any indication of its completion in the future.

The start of this verse could be rendered in English as:  Because you have loved, still love Him, and will continue to love Him, no matter what happens.

When I decided to propose to my wife, I knew things would change in the future, but my idea of  proposal for marriage fit along the lines of this preterit form of love, AHaV.  I loved my wife when she was my girlfriend. I loved my wife when she was my fiancée.  I loved my wife at the altar, I do love my wife as we have gone through the ups and downs of life, and I intend to continue to love her.

When Ana and I were still “dating”, we walked by a lagoon near her house.  There I saw  an elderly couple walk up, took a seat on a park bench and watched the sun set.  In my mind, I was looking at the model or result of true love.  Through all the years, they were still together, enjoying each others company, the remaining time they had together to enjoy the simple pleasures of life.

I get the idea the use of this word is referring to the stages of life and a continuing relationship with God.


With all Your Heart

בכל לבבך  

This is a special phrase to me, for it uses a Hebrew word for heart with 2 “B’s”, (Lebab) not the common 1 “B” (Leb).  I have learned in reading the Bible, when I see lebab used, it represents two hearts binding, God’s and man’s.    As the relationship grows over time, so does this binding with God’s heart, the relationship becomes a maturing love.


 

Your God, Your Heart, Your Soul, Your Might

These four Hebrew phrases have a commonality, they all end with the Hebrew letter Kaph in its final form.  This makes the noun possessive which we translate as your.  Esoterically, the final kaph is a gift to be shared with the world.  We are to share God’s love with others.

I believe this verse is for a person in a relationship with God.  I don’t fully understand the type of relationship God had individually with the Jewish people before Christ, but in reading through the Bible, it seemed very similar.  They asked Him in prayer, and He would answer them.  Today, we have the privilege to enter that relationship through Jesus Christ.


I now have a better understanding why Jewish people would only quote this verse in Hebrew.  It is a verse which covers the stages of life with our walk with God, and in this commandment, it is a love that grows stronger over time.  There is an expression of put your heart and soul into something.  This is an instruction from God.  If we pour our heart and soul into this relationship, our love for God will grow stronger, the relationship will grow stronger.

I have struggled to put into words what I see in this verse, for this now touches me deeply.  I didn’t do the article justice, this will be something I will revisit often.   I have a better grasps on why this is the Greatest commandment, but instead of a command, do this or else, I see this commandment as an offer of entering a life long relationship with God.  I feel secure, serene, enamored.  This is something I can look forward to throughout life, and I will spend a lifetime pondering and experiencing a growing relationship in God’s love.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment